Diabetes Cannot Stop Me by Arlette, @ksmithschool fifth grader

“When I was three, I was diagnosed with diabetes type 1.”

K. Smith Fifth Grade

logo_2013


Hello, my name is Arlette. When I was three, June 5th, 2007, I was diagnosed with diabetes type 1. Diabetes starts in your pancreas. A normal pancreas produces insulin. My pancreas work different, mine does not produce insulin. So when I eat, I have to inject myself. And on Friday it is going to be “Dia Mundeal de Diabetes.”

image

First, I am going to tell you a story. When I was like seven years old, I had a seizure, a really strong one. And my mom said that when I woke up they fed me through a tube and one side of my brain was normal color. But the other side was bright on the bottom.  The doctors said that they have never seen something like that. My mom says that it is a miracle from God.  The doctors said I had the seizure because my brain was…

View original post 56 more words

Leave a Reply

