Project Launch Day: Going Batty by Ms. Trowbridge’s First Graders

Yesterday, 1st grade launched our first content driven PBL project titled, “Going Batty.” 

“When we got back from lunch we saw alot of paper bats near our PBL wall.” – Cruz

IMG_3390

“I thought the bats were real.”  – Elizabeth

“Everybody decided if bats were harmful or helpful.  We put a bat over the word harmful or helpful to show what we thought.” – Kevin T.

IMG_3386

IMG_3388

We made a list of questions we had about bats.” – Cruz

This morning each child said what they were excited or not excited to learn about bats.  Here’s what they said:

-I want to learn where bats live and how they fly. -Kevin T.

-I’m not excited to learn because they suck your blood.  -Elizabeth

-I’m excited to learn about bats because i want to know if they live in trees or in caves.  Rodrigo

-I’m not excited to learn about bats because they bite people. – Calvin-I’m excited to learn about bats because I want to learn how they grow teeth.  – Fernanda

-I want to learn how bats have babies. – Rebecca

-I want to learn about bats because I want to know how big their wings are. – Layla

-I want to know if bats have glowing eyes. – Vanessa

-I want to know how bats eat. – Kaylin

-I’m not excited to learn about bats because I don’t like them. – Alek

-I want to learn how bats drink. – Ashely

-I’m excited to learn about bats because I know that not all bats drink blood.  – Alex

-I’m not excited to learn about bats because they bite you.  -Angelina

-I want to learn about what bats do at night. – Tina

-I’m excited because I want to learn where they live. – Jazmin

-I’m excited to learn about bats because I want to learn where they live. – Cruz

-I’m not excited about bats because they’re scary. – Kevyn

-I’m excited about bats because they suck your blood.  – Kaleb

-I’m excited about bats because they have red eyes. – Josh

-I’m not excited because they bite you. – Dylan

-I’m not excited about bats because I don’t like them. – Tuan

This afternoon, we read Bats by Lily Wood.

“I learned that bats drink liquid from flowers.” – Vanessa

“I learned that echolocation means bats use sound to find their food.” – Layla

“Vampire bats drink a little bit of blood from cows and birds.  Fruit bats eat fruit.”  Josh

“Bats fly at night.” – Fernanda

We wrote some definitions in our Vocabulary book and we found vocabulary in our bat reading and highlighted them.

IMG_3396

IMG_3394

IMG_3398

IMG_3399

Stay tuned for what we learn next!

Ms. Trowbridge’s class (@rachtrow)

Leave a Reply

